About Us

The Boundary Commission for Scotland is responsible for reviews of UK Parliament constituencies in Scotland.

We are an Advisory Non-departmental Public Body sponsored and wholly funded by the Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland. We are independent and non-political. Our constitution, duties and powers are detailed in the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, and in Schedule 1 to the Scotland Act 1998. Full details of the legislation surrounding our work are available on the Legislation page of our website www.bcomm-scotland.independent.gov.uk

Our Chair is the Speaker of the House of Commons, although the Speaker takes no part in our proceedings. Our work is led by the Deputy Chair who is a Court of Session judge appointed by the Lord President of the Court of Session. The two other members are appointed by the Secretary of State for Scotland through a public appointments process. In addition, the Director General of Ordnance Survey and the Registrar General for Scotland help us as ex-officio Assessors.

We are supported in our work by a small Secretariat.

You can contact us by email (bcs@scottishboundaries.gov.uk), telephone us (0131 244 2001), or write to us (Boundary Commission for Scotland, Thistle House, 91 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5HD).