Our proposals for Scotland

The map below displays our revised proposals for new constituencies in the area you searched for.

We have now concluded all three consultation stages of our 2023 Review and will submit our formal report and recommendations in June 2023.

Move - use this tool to click and drag the map to a new location, can also be used to select items on the map.

Data - use this tool to click on the map and view the electorate data for the selected area. The electorate data will appear in a box underneath the map.

Full-screen - expand the map to full-screen view

Minimise - minimise the map to normal size

Boundaries - use the boundaries button to turn on/off different boundary layers

Attention The boundaries and the name labels in the wards, existing constituency and proposed constituency layers are visible only at a certain zoom level. Please zoom in to see all the information on these layers.

Review details

What you need to know?

  • The number of UK Parliament constituencies in Scotland must reduce from 59 to 57.
  • By law, every constituency we propose must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors, unless its area is greater than 12,000 square kilometres and a constituency with between 69,724 and 77,062 electors is not reasonably possible.
  • The constituencies of Orkney and Shetland and Na h-Eileanan an Iar are protected by legislation and not under review.

In general, we aimed to:

  • Design as many constituencies as practicable that do not cross a council area boundary.
  • Recognise existing community ties.
  • Take into consideration local geography (for example transport links, other electoral boundaries, administrative boundaries and natural features).
  • Consider special geographical considerations where appropriate.

These recommendations do not affect: your council boundary, ward boundary or community council boundary; your council tax and the services your council provides; your school catchment area; your postcode or postal address; access to public or private facilities or transport; policing or fire service areas; or, NHS services, e.g. your GP or local hospital.